AI agents · OpenClaw · self-hosting · automation

Quick Answer

Gemini 4 Argon vs Gemini 3.8 Flash 2026: Which Google Model

Published:

The short answer

Gemini 4 Argon is Google’s new frontier model (September 30, 2026): $2/$10 intro pricing, 1M-token output, #1 on the Vals Index, gated to cyber defenders for now. Gemini 3.8 Flash is Google’s generally available workhorse (September 2, 2026): $0.75/$3.75 through December 31, 2026, 64K output, fully multimodal input. Use 3.8 Flash for everything you ship today and for high-volume, latency-sensitive work; reserve Argon for long-horizon agentic coding, legal/finance research and vulnerability remediation once it is available. Facts verified October 1, 2026.

Side by side

Gemini 4 ArgonGemini 3.8 Flash
AnnouncedSeptember 30, 2026September 2, 2026
TierFrontier (new Gemini 4 generation)Flash (speed/cost tier)
Input / output per MTok$2 / $10 intro → $4 / $20$0.75 / $3.75 through Dec 31, 2026 → $1.50 / $7.50
Cached input$0.10 (95% off)Standard Gemini cache discount
Batch / FlexNot stated at launch50% off
Context1M1M
Max output1M tokens (Google; Vals ran 262K)64K
Input modalitiesText, image, long videoText, image, audio, video
Knowledge cutoffNot statedMarch 2026
AvailabilityFairwind Program only; paid API + AI Ultra nextGA on Gemini API, Vertex AI; default in AI Mode
Cyber variantShipped to Fairwind defenders without cyber guardrailsGemini 3.8 Flash Cyber (Fairwind, separate model)
Vals Index68.90%, #1 of 41Finance Agent v2: 61.44% (#2 behind Argon)
AA Intelligence IndexNot yet scored58.7
DeepSWE v1.177.9%—
CWE-benchv1: 68% (tied #1)v0: frontier-level (Cyber variant)
Output tokens per AA task—~48,000 (high)

Prices from Google’s launch post and the Gemini API pricing page as of October 1, 2026.

What Argon adds over Flash

  1. Output length. 1M tokens in a single trajectory versus 64K. Google says this is what lets Argon “think deeply and generate hundreds of thousands of tokens” to solve a hard problem in one go — the libgav1 SIMD-to-Rust rewrite and the 800K-line Zircon kernel migration are the examples. Flash has to be chunked and orchestrated for that scale of job.
  2. Frontier scores. DeepSWE v1.1 77.9%, AutomationBench 51.3%, Harvey Legal Agent 19.6%, Vals Finance Agent v2 65.4% (3.8 Flash: 61.44%, the only place Google’s own table puts Flash near Argon).
  3. Prompt-injection resistance. 0.7% attack success rate on Gray Swan’s IPI benchmark, Google’s lowest ever; the chart does not list 3.8 Flash.
  4. Vulnerability discovery. On Wiz’s black-box pentest benchmark Argon beats 3.8 Flash Cyber at mapping attack surface, finding bugs and producing proof-of-concept evidence; it found a hospital-software vulnerability “previous frontier models had missed.”

What Flash keeps

  1. Price. 2.7x cheaper than Argon’s intro rate and 5.3x cheaper than its post-intro rate on both input and output, plus 50% Batch/Flex. The $0.75/$3.75 rate runs through December 31, 2026 — fixed and dated, unlike Argon’s open-ended “introductory.”
  2. Availability. GA on the Gemini API and Vertex AI since September 2, 2026, with audio input Argon’s launch post does not mention. Argon has no public date.
  3. Latency. Vals measured Argon at 46 minutes 33 seconds average latency per Index test at high effort; that is a batch model, not a chat model. Flash is the interactive tier.
  4. Patching track record. 3.8 Flash Cyber’s 2.6x Chrome-patch result via CodeMender stands; Argon “builds on” it, and CodeMender is listed alongside Argon in Fairwind.

Cost per task reality

Reference 30K-in / 5K-out task: Argon $0.11 (intro) / $0.22 (post); 3.8 Flash $0.041 (2026) / $0.0825 (2027). But Artificial Analysis found 3.8 Flash emits ~48K output tokens per task at high effort — 7.7x GPT-6 Astra — which erased most of its price advantage against Astra in measured cost ($2.04 vs $1.41–$3.27 per coding task). Argon’s per-task token use is unmeasured by AA; Vals’ $15.68 per Index test and $57.82 per Code Migration test suggest it uses its headroom. Run both on your workload at the effort level you will ship.

Which to choose in 2026

  • Shipping now, any volume: Gemini 3.8 Flash. It is the only one of the two you can call.
  • Multi-hour agentic jobs (migrations, audits, legal review): Gemini 4 Argon when it reaches the paid API; Flash chunked until then.
  • Security patching at scale: 3.8 Flash Cyber + CodeMender today via Fairwind; Argon via Fairwind for discovery and remediation on the hardest targets.
  • Budget planning: model Flash at $1.50/$7.50 (from January 1, 2027) and Argon at $4/$20 — both intro rates expire.

Related: Gemini 3.8 Flash vs 3.7 Flash vs Opus 5, Gemini 3.8 Flash Cyber vs GPT-5.6 Cyber vs Mythos 5.1, what is Gemini 4 Argon.

Last verified: October 1, 2026.

Sources