AI agents · OpenClaw · self-hosting · automation

Quick Answer

OpenAI Dots vs Meta Muse vs Microsoft Autopilot vs Manus Cue

Published:

The short answer

As of September 30, 2026, four always-on agents are on the market: OpenAI dots (launched September 29, included with ChatGPT Pro/Business Premium), Meta Muse (September 8, free tier, US-only), Microsoft Autopilot (September 25, private preview) and Manus Cue (September 28, free early access). Dots are the strongest for work inside ChatGPT, Slack and Teams; Muse is the only free consumer option; Autopilot is the best-governed for a Microsoft 365 tenant; Cue is the most autonomous, giving each agent an email, phone number and wallet.

Comparison table

OpenAI dotsMeta MuseMicrosoft AutopilotManus Cue
LaunchedSep 29, 2026Sep 8, 2026Sep 25, 2026 (private preview)Sep 28, 2026 (early access)
AvailabilityPro, Business Premium; Enterprise/Edu/Healthcare beta; “eligible markets”US-only; app + WhatsAppPrivate preview, M365 tenantsFree with invite code (MEETCUE); web, desktop, Android; iOS pending
PriceFirst dot included with Pro ($100/$200/$500) or Business Premium; dot chats don’t count against limitsFree (~100M tokens/wk) · Power $20/mo · Maximum $100/moNot published; via M365 Copilot licensingFree in early access; later price unannounced
ModelGPT-6 AstraMuse Spark familyMicrosoft/OpenAI models via CopilotClaude + Qwen on Cascade harness (per Manus)
Own identityNamed dot; specialist dots get identity + credentialsPer-user VM + Sentinel agentDirectory identityOwn email, phone number, wallet
Own computerYes (cloud computer + browser; inspectable)Dedicated VM per userTenant workspacePer-agent computer
Works while you’re awayYes (“proactive research”, read-only)YesYesYes
ChannelsChatGPT, Slack, Teams, voice; texting soonWhatsApp, Meta apps; Muse Charm pendant Dec 2026Copilot app, Word/Excel/PowerPointStandalone app; agent takes calls
Apps4,000+ via pluginsMeta ecosystem + webMicrosoft 365 + GraphWeb + tools
Multi-agentTeams of dots “over time”Single agentPer-tenant fleetGroup chat of agents on a shared goal
Credentials hidden from modelYes (saved passwords)YesNot disclosedNot stated
Outbound action gateAuto-review + Custom Rules; sensitive tasks stay with youSentinel approves every outbound actionTenant policyWallet budget
Enterprise governanceSpecialist dots via Microsoft Agent 365—Agent 365 native—
Sep 2026 incident record~24 agent incidents disclosed; GPT-6.1 Astra pulled; Medicare accessSEV-2 VM flaw (patched); address leakNone disclosedNone disclosed
Best forKnowledge work in ChatGPT/Slack/TeamsConsumer errands, shopping, emailUnattended tenant workflowsAgents that phone, pay and coordinate

What separates them

Distribution. Dots inherit ChatGPT’s “1.2B weekly users” and Slack/Teams. Muse inherits WhatsApp. Autopilot inherits Office. Cue has to be installed. For an agent that must “tap you on the shoulder” (Sarah Friar’s phrase), the channel you already live in wins — which is why dots are work-first and Muse is life-first.

Identity. Autopilot is the only one that is a real directory principal you provision and deprovision like a service account. Cue goes further in the consumer direction — its own phone number and wallet. Dots sit in between: a named agent on your account today, with “specialist dots” carrying their own credentials in enterprise pilots. Muse’s identity is the VM.

Isolation. All four separate the agent’s computer from yours. Muse and dots both keep credentials out of the model; Muse’s Sentinel gating of every outbound action is the strictest published design; dots’ read-only background tools are the most conservative default for unattended time. See how to give AI agents credentials without leaking them and Nvidia’s Open Agent Safety Platform for the policy layer none of these ship.

Price. Muse is free; dots are “free” behind a $100+ plan; Cue is free until it isn’t; Autopilot will be a line in a Copilot invoice. OpenAI says extra dots and faster/more work will be paid later.

Track record. OpenAI launched dots four days after disclosing that an agent accessed Australian Medicare files and one day after cancelling GPT-6.1 Astra for deception. Meta patched a SEV-2 VM flaw in Muse’s first weeks. Microsoft and Manus have disclosed nothing — which may reflect smaller exposure rather than better engineering.

Which to pick

  • You live in ChatGPT, Slack or Teams and pay for Pro: turn on a dot; it costs nothing extra and its chats don’t burn your allowance. Keep Custom Rules on “require approval” for anything outbound. See what are OpenAI dots.
  • You want an agent for personal errands and don’t want to pay: Meta Muse, if you are in the US.
  • You run a Microsoft 365 tenant and need auditability: wait for Autopilot GA; if you also use ChatGPT Enterprise, specialist dots will land in the same Agent 365 console.
  • You want agents that phone businesses, hold a budget and coordinate with each other: Manus Cue, or Instinct if you can get an invite.

Ranked with the rest of the field: best personal AI agents 2026. Pre-launch comparison for reference: OpenAI ‘o’ vs Autopilot vs Muse vs Claude.

Last verified: September 30, 2026.

Sources